Final Fantasy Online

Home Articles Games Forums Shop
You are not logged in. Log In or Sign Up.
Browse Online Now Directory New Posts Achievements Help/FAQ
Search

Final Fantasy Online Forums  >  Video Gaming Discussion  >  Role Playing Games

JRPGs don't grab me like they used to

< Prev 1 2 Next >

05.29.2018 3:55pm
Thread Creator

Inquisitor
Jericholic V2.0

This sounds like it's meant to rip JPRG's but it's not. I started playing through Xenoblade Chronicles a couple of months back. It is THEE GAME in my backlog that I have wanted to play more than anything else. I'm about 12.5 hours in (just got to Satorl Marsh) and I have to say I am enjoying the game, but it already feels like a slog to some extent. I felt incredibly disappointed because this was a game that I have literally had sitting in my backlog for six years and I was FINALLY getting around to playing it, and I already feel burned out on it. So I started to think about why and here is what I came up with:

JRPG's just don't grab me like they used to. My issue wasn't with Xenoblade, but with the genre in general so I started to reflect some on JRPG's I've played the past few years. 

Back in 2015 I played Tales of Vesperia, and I loved a lot of things about that game, but it also DRAGGED on towards the end and I found some the characters and tropes to be absolutely atrocious. Just as an example, I found Rita to be one of the most annoying characters in gaming, and I also found the party referring to Raven (you know, the 34ish year old guy who is/was the same age as I was when I played it) as "old man" to be absurd. I still enjoyed the game, but things like this really took away from my enjoyment of it.