Final Fantasy Online

Home Articles Games Forums Shop
You are not logged in. Log In or Sign Up.
Browse Online Now Directory New Posts Achievements Help/FAQ
Search

Final Fantasy Online Forums  >  Community Discussion  >  The Dork Squad

Building a workstation

03.07.2012 6:02pm
Thread Creator

Raphael
Eternal Lurker

I've been using a MacBook Pro/MacBook Air for the past 5 years and I've never built a computer, so I don't really know where to start.

My budget is around 1000$ for the computer itself. It is intended as a work PC, so my primary use would be  AutoCAD, Civil 3D, Revit Architecture, CATIA and the likes. Of course I'll want to run a few games, namely Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2, maybe Skyrim, but I'm guessing that this shouldn't be a problem.

I'll (eventually) be using three Dell U2412m 1980x1200 24" monitors. I'm guessing that's relevant info.

From what I understand, I need a case, PSU, motherboard, CPU, GPU, RAM and HDD.

Case
I see some fairly cheap ones and some very expensive ones...so what am I looking for? Should I pick the other components first then choose a case to go with them?

PSU
From what I read, this is a very important part not to cheap out on, because it could cause many problems for the entire system. I'm guessing I need to choose wattage based on the other components and future upgrades, right?

Motherboard
Not a clue. I'm guessing compatibility is the thing to look for. Anything else?

CPU
Am I right in asuming that most of the CAD softwares are CPU-heavy? If so, would it be worth it to wait for an Ivy Bridge processor?

GPU