Final Fantasy Online

Home Articles Games Forums Shop
You are not logged in. Log In or Sign Up.
Browse Online Now Directory New Posts Achievements Help/FAQ
Search

Final Fantasy Online Forums  >  Community Discussion  >  The Dork Squad

RAM question and comp upgrade

10.23.2011 4:00pm
Thread Creator

Kal
yes

Hey guys I'm a noob when it comes to tech specs and whatnot. I need to upgrade my comp as  it's now 2 years old and I'm dealing with heavy photoshop files and it's a bit slow...
Here are my current specs : 

Intel i7 860
Asus P7P55D LE
GeForce GTS 250 512mo
system : WD Velociraptor 150go - 16mo
storage : Samsung Spinpoint F3-Sata 1000go - 32mo
500watt power supply
G.Skill Extreme3 2x2go PC10600 Ripjaws
Win7 family 64bit

I have maybe 200� tops to upgrade so I was thinking of at least doubling if not trippling if not quadripling my ram, as ram is dirt cheap right now apparently... 

So should i just get 4x4go of new ram or add 2x4 to what I have  ? What is the best ram to get ? What's the best course of action here ? 
Thanks !

Jump to Post

10.24.2011 1:23am

Southern Comfort
silently judging all of you

I think any decent 1333mHz DDR3 package will probably work fine.

Looking at prices - holy shit balls!  I had no idea RAM was this cheap!  Might as well go with 4x4gb modules at this price.  It's too bad you're not running a triple channel setup, if you were I'd even recommend going for 24gb.  Get the 1600 mHz stuff (PC3 12800), it's sitting at the right price.  Brand doesn't matter, but the Corsair Vengance and G.Skill Ripjaws brands are fairly cheap.

Installing 1600 mHz might let you eke a few extra mHz out of your processor, if your motherboard supports some decent overclocking options.  The i7's apparently overclock well.

There's not a lot more you can do to make Photoshop run better, other than install a fast SSD drive.  Photoshop is a pig.

Jump to Post

10.24.2011 4:02am

Arckanghel
Pirate.