Final Fantasy Online

Home Articles Games Forums Shop
You are not logged in. Log In or Sign Up.
Browse Online Now Directory New Posts Achievements Help/FAQ
Search

Final Fantasy Online Forums  >  Community Discussion  >  The Dork Squad

motherboard questions, processor compatbility

09.04.2011 10:43pm
Thread Creator

noclist
Chalky Studebaker

I decided I want to upgrade the processor in my desktop, but I think I'm going to also need a new motherboard to do so. The motherboard I have is from about 7 years ago, the ASUS P4P800. From what I can tell, the best processor that I can put in it is a Pentium 4, 3.4 Ghz. I've never done this before so I'm not 100% sure if that is the case. Assuming I need a new motherboard, what type should I be looking for that can support at least the dual core processors? Are those the same boards that support the core i series or is that even more recent? Will a new motherboard be compatible with my current power supply/memory/etc? And is newegg the best place to get these types of things? Thanks for any help!

Jump to Post

09.05.2011 8:21am

Southern Comfort
silently judging all of you

Yeah, Socket 478 doesn't leave you any upgrade room at all - even the later Prescott P4's were using LGA775 sockets.

I'm very sorry to say, there's not going to be much you can do other than buy a new system. A new processor will require a new motherboard, yes. Which will in turn require new memory and a new videocard (you're using DDR or DDR2 memory, new systems require DDR3; you're most likely using an AGP or onboard videocard, new videocards are PCIe). Your old PSU may work, but don't count on it - some new boards still use the ATX20 connector, but only cheap ones, better ones use the ATX24 connector, and there is a major question if the +12v rail can supply enough juice. Old hard drives and old optical drives are more likely to work, but finding a motherboard that still has a single PATA connector is getting iffy - SATA300 is the norm.