Final Fantasy Online

Home Articles Games Forums Shop
You are not logged in. Log In or Sign Up.
Browse Online Now Directory New Posts Achievements Help/FAQ
Search

Final Fantasy Online Forums  >  Video Gaming Discussion  >  Gaming Discussion

Game pet peeves.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 Next >

11.21.2011 6:55pm
Thread Creator

Sturm
Registered Member

So what about games piss you off? Whether it be trends in gaming, AI, controls. Not limited to anything, just a general bitching thread.

I recently started playing Mass Effect 1 on a fresh file on hardcore difficulty, and the thing that pisses me off most about it is suicidial AI. This is a game that tries to be cover based but none of that really matters if the AI is just going to charge you with little to no regard about their own survival. O look three Krogans are charging me, guess I'm fucked.

Another one that's been annoying me lately is tilt controls. I got frustrated with this in the new Zelda with things like the beetle flying and diving from the air. Nothing is worse than flying the beetle halfway across the room and then missing a switch because you were slightly off target. Then I started playing Super Mario Galaxy, the race on that manta ray. Holy shit, I failed to that a dozen time with a handful of the times with the finish being in my view.

At this point in time, I figured game companies had figured that it's a shitty way to control things and would just limit those things to being controlled to joystick movement. Look at Uncharted, in the first game grenades and balancing on ropes are both controlled by tilt of the controller, but you can't find it in any of the sequels.... I wonder why?

It's just such an imprecise way to control things. 

So tell me, whats pissing you off.

Jump to Post

11.21.2011 7:12pm

CaButler
Winter Knight of the Unseelie Court

Quick Time Events.  They we're fine for stuff like Dragon's Lair and (maybe) Shenmue. Now, there's no point in them.

Jump to Post

11.21.2011 7:30pm

Luna